I was in the woods yesterday

The Sitka spruce forests of the Oregon Coast dripped as I strolled the paths of Oswald West State Park. The rain was on a lunch break but had been working in hard torrents all morning. Spruce needles are adept at catching rain drops, then letting them go and directing them down to the forest floor. And yesterday the forest was dripping heavily, the spruce sharing their storm’s bounty. Under-story plants, such as salal (Gaultheria shallon), vine maple (Acer circinatum), and fringecup (Tellima grandiflora)  slurp up the drips and grow hale and hearty through the spring and summer.  The rains of fall, however, bring another resident out – mushrooms.  Then there’s the slugs;slugs are ever-present in the coastal groves.

5 thoughts on “I was in the woods yesterday

  1. This little snippet of your foray to the wet dripping woods filled me with delight. I love that you are so at home in the woods and can call the many different plants and growth by name. That wet glossy cluster of mushrooms look absolutely charming. Sharon

    • YES! I I’m very much at home in the woods…and the desert, and the prairie, and I imagine too in the taiga and on the ice caps. In summary, I’m very much at home in the outdoors; it’s where I feel most alive.

What do you think? I'd love to know

