One Shot Wednesday

I think a million people have taken this picture. Haystack Rock at Oregon’s Cannon Beach is one of the most visited, iconic outcrops along the Pacific Northwest coast. But, on this day, I was the only one taking photos from this spot, at this time. Now, that’s unique.

You laugh. But I’m serious.

At this moment, I was alone in my experience. Only I could see what I saw. Only I was drinking in the beauty in a way that only I can do. Certainly, this is a beautiful place but I’ve had the same experience on my daily bike commute on streets that may be considered somewhat common: there’s  something about the light, or the foliage, or the actions and poses of crows I pass by. Yet, there I am, seeing only what I could see and it is beautiful.

I’m not saying that you aren’t capable of seeing the profound in a simple autumn leaf, or be seduced by a cirrus cloud tracing images in the sky as I am. I’m just saying that only I can think what I think, just as you can only think what you think.  No matter how hard I try to explain in pictures and words, it’s just impossible for you to have my experience. That makes my experience wonderfully unique. That makes this picture – the same picture that millions of people have snapped – special.

What do you think? I'd love to know

