One for Wednesday

Barb Winter 2013 214

Have you ever read Jonathan Livingston Seagull? In the early 1970s, it was virally popular book about a gull seeking a better life, hoping to do more with his life than just eating Doritos and whatever else normal gulls do . I don’t remember all of the story’s context or meaning but if I do recall it was a narrative written in first-person and more than a little anthropomorphic. I wrote it off as a sappy attempt at a self-help book.  But, lo and behold, and imagine my astonishment when I espied Jonathan L. Seagull in my neighborhood just this week.  His search for the meaning of life continues, as evidenced by his interest in entering this building – a funeral home. Even my proximity failed to dissuade him from his path:  seeking answers about death or life after death, I’m sure.

2 thoughts on “One for Wednesday

What do you think? I'd love to know

