Just a peek

moonrise and mt hoodI think western society sets an expectation that you know what you want to be, have a purpose in life, and that you pursue it. I also think there are two types of people: those that know what they want to be with certainty, and those who don’t have one intense calling.

I fall into the later group. My vocational life has been a sequence of jobs pursued by following a thread of interest. I’m interested in bikes, and teaching, and  conservation, and birds, and words; all those interests have translated to rewarding work. But, I have never been able to pronounce in advance a dream of becoming something that incorporated those interests; I just jumped on the opportunities as they came.

It’s worked out well for me. I think I’ve learned a lot this way, and I’ve been able to contribute to my community. And, I’m not done yet. There are other interests that peek through the fog now and then. Like the moon through the clouds, or the tip of a mountain, that catches my attention, these little notions  shine light on the next direction I need to go. I’ll use my best navigational skills to dead reckon from their hint of illumination and eventually arrive at a meaningful place.

4 thoughts on “Just a peek

  1. I recognize where you took that photo from. The next evening, I saw the moon just peaking out from behind the peak and was regretting not getting a photo of that amazing image. I’m happy you got the peak peeking photo.

  2. Sharon, your thoughtful response, insights from Roger Ebert, and warm thoughts are well-received on this beautiful day. Thank you for adding to this post with your wisdom.
    my best to you,
    b

  3. I thought a long while after reading your beautifully reflective post Barb.

    And I remember this quote from the late Roger Ebert. It touched me in its simplicity.

    “To make others less happy is a crime. To make ourselves unhappy is where all crime starts. We must try to contribute joy to the world. That is true no matter what our problems, our health, our circumstances. We must try. I didn’t always know this and am happy I lived long enough to find it out.” – Roger Ebert

    May we all live long enough to find out the translation of all that is within us into something meaningful. Sometimes, maybe it’s just as simple as making those around us live a little easier, a little happier. I reckon, you do that already.

    My warmest thoughts,
    Sharon

What do you think? I'd love to know

