One for Wednesday 8-14-13

licorice fern\

I’m feeling a little shriveled today.
Perhaps it’s the heat,
or waiting for the thunder, lightening,
and rain, that never comes.
Perhaps it’s just a seasonal shift-
this overwhelming thirst of mine;
new growth is not eternal after all.
Leaves curl and brown.
Rhizomes dig a little deeper
searching for sustenance;
some sap passed my way
from a well-meaning friend.
That flowing life more critical than light;
I drink all I can as if in love.

2 thoughts on “One for Wednesday 8-14-13

What do you think? I'd love to know

