Tides out, fogs in

” You can’t always get what you want, but you’ll get what you need.”
~Rolling Stones

When you head out on a bicycle-camping vacation you hope for good weather. By good, I mean clear and sunny skies with moderately warm temperatures. But, when you travel north to British Columbia in the late summer you may not get the weather for which you hoped.

Moderately warm days were indeed in store but so too were rainy afternoons, evenings, and mornings. The plentiful moisture, warm air, and proximity to the ocean did deliver something which I did not know to hope for but is one of the hallmarks of this trip: fog.Salt Spring 2013 042

Before the sun even rises we start hearing fog horns. Our tent is a mere stone’s throw from the shore of Straight of Georgia where numerous ferry routes pass. Upon emerging from the tent at dawn the cause for the horns is obvious; dense fog obscuring our view. Visibility measures a mere 30-40 feet.  What was a stunning view of the Gulf Island landscape when we retired the night before has narrowed.  All morning the horns continue to sound from all directions.

Salt Spring 2013 037Salt Spring 2013 024

As the day progresses and the sun warms the water, air, and us, the fog begins to thin. First we can see the waterline, then a few ferries emerge from the fog, then neighboring islands become outlines on the horizon. Through it all the fog does a dance flowing and lifting and  filling space. Salt Spring 2013 020Salt Spring 2013 052

This show was not what I hoped for, it was better and worth the price of admission: thunder, drenching rain, and one soggy tent.

10 thoughts on “Tides out, fogs in

  1. That first photo is great! I’ve seen the islands ensconced in fog like that before, I believe one of the times I biked up to UBC on Marine Drive. And then in the afternoon when I came out of whatever I was doing that day, the sun had broken through. One of my favo(u)rite things about the Vancouver area, for sure. : )

  2. While I seem to need vitamin D and sunshine, I should like to visit some part of the Pacific Northwest beaches, just to fly kites for a bit.

    Beautiful pictures, notwithstanding the overcast weather.

    • Glad you like the photos, I didn’t have a good camera with me since I was traveling light but at least you can see a bit of how the fog was painting the landscape.

      Kite flying is a big coastal pass time here in Oregon, lots of great beaches here to enjoy with or without a kite-worthy wind.

      • I’m sure I could find plenty of flight time– I live near where the late Margaret “The Kite Lady” Greger (author of “Kites For Everyone”) lived, and I learned quite a bit in our horridly gusty winds here. Winds are so much steadier at the coastline.

What do you think? I'd love to know

