Big Sur Bike Tour – Part II

Day Two – Layover in Monterey

big sur pacific grove1

The Monterey Hostel is welcoming and warm, clean and comfortable, and like most youth hostels full of interesting people. I lodged in the women’s bunk room and found it easy to catch a full night’s sleep; a wonderful contrast to my previous night on the Amtrak Coast Starlight. Rising early, I retrieved my bike from its secure locker and headed out for the day.

After a big breakfast I pedaled past Cannery Row to Lover’s Point. This spot is scenic even on its worst day, and today was not that day. Bright sun, blue water, big surf, and Humpback whales all made for premium ocean viewing. Through my binoculars I watched a pod of whales in the bay and was relieved to see them crossing the bay without the tailing whale-watching boats that one sees hounding the orcas in the Puget Sound.

big sur jelly1

Jellyffish: some of the amazing marine life at the Monterey Bay Aquarium.

Next stop, Monterey Bay Aquarium where I spent several hours touring the exhibits and learning more about marine life. After reaching my capacity for absorbing information and being indoors on such a glorious day I took leave of the aquarium and returned to Lover’s Point. To my great fortune, the whales were back.  Not only were they still in the bay, but they were just off the point ( about 1/4 mile) feeding and they remained there for over an hour. I watched as they dove, rolled, periscoped, and generally did whale things. From the rocky shore, I enjoyed the show, soaked up the afternoon sun, and made the acquaintance of one of the locals – see that gull pictured below…

DSCN4372

One of the locals at Lover’s Point

My plan for a layover paid off with a rewards of a relaxing, educational, and inspiring day. Now it was time to buckle down and prepare the coming days of cycling through Big Sur.

Day 3 – Off Like a Herd of Turtles

big sur foggy morning

No tourist out yet on this foggy morning.

My plan for this trip was to take it easy and take in the sights. But, I still had to pedal down the road to get to those sites so I set off bright and early into the morning fog. Heading south through Pacific Grove, 17-Mile Drive, and Carmel, before most tourists were awake. I eventually returned to Highway 1.

Heading south from Carmel the road gets narrower and windier and traffic slower and lighter. Here the road cuts between the coast and the Santa Lucia Mountains. This is the Big Sur coast. It is one of my favorite cycle tour routes thanks to its challenging terrain, beautiful scenery, and plentiful camping options. One of my least favorite aspects of the trip though is the bridges. The older ones have no shoulder so are a little unnerving for someone with a fear of heights.

big sur bixby2

Bixby Bridge

But, luck was with me this day as the most notorious of those bridges, Bixby Bridge, was easy crossing this trip thanks to some nearby road construction that was stopping traffic and consolidating the flow of vehicles. I just jumped on the tail of the row of cars crossing the bridge and had the whole lane to myself, actually enjoying the view this time across. My luck continued as the afternoon winds picked up. Less than 10 miles from my day’s end destination a flat plain is most welcome to hill-wearied legs. Also welcome was the sight of a flag flying in the wind – confirming that the wind was indeed behind me and aiding my progress.

DSCN4392

The wind is blowing my way!

In short order I arrived at Pfieiffer Big Sur State Park and set up my tent next to a cluster of giant redwoods. Another good night’s sleep – guaranteed!

4 thoughts on “Big Sur Bike Tour – Part II

  1. The oldest of my three younger sisters lives in the San Jose area. She’s an avid scuba diver and I’ve heard FANTASTIC things about Monterey, and she shared some breathtaking views above and below water in photos much like these. I talked with other divers a few years ago and they agreed Monterey was awesome.

  2. The scenery looks amazing!
    There is nothing like a nice tail wind to make cycling excellent fun! We enjoyed the effects of the Mistral (tail) wind in the Rhône valley on our recent trip to France – it was awesome!

    • Any serious cyclist certainly has a history with wind – and I’ve experienced legendary head, tail, and cross winds. So, I have a sort of love-hate relationship with big breezes.As tough as they were, the Santa Anas aren’t the worse I’ve had but I’m still glad I have experienced them. I do need to experience some European winds though, the Mistrals do sound like a good candidate.

What do you think? I'd love to know

