Some of them are whatever

Barb Redwoods 001

“When you go out into the woods and you look at trees,

you see all these different trees.

Barb Redwoods 057c

And some of them are bent, and some of them are straight,

and some of them are evergreens,

and some of them are whatever.

Trees of mystery

And you look at the tree and you allow it. You appreciate it.

You see why it is the way it is.

You sort of understand that it didn’t get enough light,

and so it turned that way.

Barb Redwoods 056a

And you don’t get all emotional about it.

You just allow it.

You appreciate the tree.Barb Redwoods 040c

The minute you get near humans, you lose all that. And you are constantly saying ‘You’re too this, or I’m too this.’

That judging mind comes in.

And so I practice turning people into trees.FullSizeRender (2)

Which means appreciating them just the way they are.”

~Ram Dass

3 thoughts on “Some of them are whatever

  1. I thing they are all “defying the laws of nature”‘ myself. Trees of Mystery…..but they are all far from being a cheap, roadside attraction. If I were to imagine you as a tree….I think I might picture you as a maple. Strong, many branches in all directions, but all reaching out and up….changing with the seasons, and a good root structure. You would never be so air-headed as a palm, so esoteric as a willow, or so hard-core as an oak. Yup, I think a maple (vine, Japanese, sugar,…..any will do) would be a good match…..but a fabulous cousin ought to know one when she sees one.

    • Thank you for painting me a maple. I had not considered that as my affections are often for conifers and oaks. But, too I might like to be a kapok tree, if only I could be so wise.

      • I would love to be a kapok tree, too……just so I could be called “Kapok.” I also think this would be a great name for a cat. I admire baobabs, but since hey are known as “upside-down” trees and I can’t stand on my head anymore, and I have never been able to do a cartwheel, this just does not fit either. I think I like pecan trees. I am kind of nutty, I have deep roots, and I like nice warm dry summers.

What do you think? I'd love to know

