It’s messy

unnamed

It’s messy this web. This spider and its web are not only allowed but enjoyed as part of my deskside decoration.

Spider moved in some time last winter and since then the orchid, on which it spins, has flourished. The orchid as bloomed, twice, sent out shoots and generally been healthier than any orchid I’ve ever had. Mind you, I’ve not had many orchids as I usually extinguish them rather quickly from lack of knowledge in their care.

Can you blame me for supposing that Spider has something to do with the orchids well-being? I know it’s unlikely but I have to attribute this unique situation to something as my attention to plant care has not changed.

Mr Mudlips has informed me that it is a bit embarrassing, this mess that I allow at my desk. I, however, am more proud than embarrassed. Both spider and orchid are that source of pride as both continue to grow and give me more and more enjoyment with their robust behaviors.

I think these messy bits are a good thing in one’s life. My poor mum might disagree. You know, her barn was tidier and cleaner than many kitchens I’ve seen. She  would have that first wisp of a web swept away before the spider had spun. The mat of filament that now exists would have been vanquished before it began.

Oh, though I am her child, I am not her, and so that first tiny web from the then tiny spider was missed. The spider became established and I had not the heart to remove it. Now, I’d be downright irate if someone wiped it away with a duster. Beware oh-cleaning crew, mess not with my spider.

There are many other threads in my life that go untended. I think I’ll experiment with them too and see what orchids bloom in my negligence. Perhaps though, it’s not negligence. Perhaps life is meant to be messy. Have you seen the entropy of a forest floor? Trees give way to logs and moss and fungi and then to trees again. Without the mess of a decaying tree or animal, new life would fail. It would not just fail to grow but in many cases it would fail to begin.

Did you know that the bunchberry (Cornus canadensis) which grows on the floor of Pacific Northwest forests is said to only sprout in the humus of a decaying tree? The bunchberry is one of my favorite forest herbs: a lovely four-petaled white flower that pollinates into a cluster of tiny berries. But what a mess it grows in. A tree must topple and decay before this tiny dogwood will grow. Decaying trees are very messy!

So, here’s to the messes in our life and the good they facilitate: those that abet spiders, and berries, and our own personal growth.

One thought on “It’s messy

  1. Sigh. Spiders don’t stand a chance in this house. Walter and/or Mara would see to that, and either eat the arachnid or pat it into jam with a foot well-placed. We supply our own source of entropy….a house that has no unifying theme other than “eclectica”: Clutter is its own form of messiness. But clutter is also a forest floor of humus, ferns, bracken, and forbs. So you are right: messiness is also a source of creativity, growth, and stimulation. But fabulous cousins understand the clutter we each create.

What do you think? I'd love to know

